This may sound funny to you, but have you ever hugged a tree?

When I was in my early 20’s, I was experiencing a massive amount of anxiety and panic in my life.  I couldn’t seem to get a grip on why I was experiencing this, so I went to speak with a Counsellor.  I learned that “fear” was causing my problems and the Counsellor suggested I take a weekend to myself and find a place where I could relax and just be.

I decided to go to a wonderful little town called, Nelson in the Province of British Columbia.  In the summer, Nelson has a Tree Planting industry which I was fortunate enough to witness.  In “just being”, I was walking around this beautiful community and admiring absolutely everything, when I saw some Tree Planters.  They were the most relaxed people I had ever seen in my life.

During my walk, I went into the local bookstore and was asking the owner, who these people were, as I had never met a Tree Planter before.  She explained to me just what they do and why they do it.  In her next breath, she looked at me and said, “you look like you have way too much on your mind, I can see it in your eyes.  Have you ever hugged a Tree?”   I suppose I was starting to show my anxiety and I didn’t blame her for mentioning it, in fact I appreciated her observation; her comment truly changed my life.

I asked her why she asked me if I had ever hugged a tree.  Her response, “it will change your life, your fears, and you”.

Hearing her mention “fear”, I paid for my purchases in her bookstore, smiled at her with tears in my eyes, and found the perfect place and hugged that tree as if it was a friend I hadn’t seen in 20 years!  There are no words to express the energy I received from that tree, I may have looked like a lunatic hugging a tree, but to be honest, it really didn’t matter to me; I was feeling such positive energy from this tree that I didn’t want to let go.

I’ve learned over the years, there are many ways to deal with anxiety, stress and fear, and I’ve researched almost all of them, but nothing compares to the comfort I received after hugging that tree.

I allowed myself to be vulnerable, I allowed myself to be open enough to try new things, and I allowed myself to find comfort which was needed.

With Good Vibes Only in my heart, I say this too you, “Hug a Tree”, you are not only receiving a great vibration, but you will feel as though you have received all the wisdom an old tree can give to you.

download (1)

