Every single time I tell this next story, I cry.  These are not tears of sadness, but tears of heartfelt compassion and warmth.

Ten years ago, my husband and I were living in Kelowna, British Columbia where the homeless population is quite high.  We decided to go to our local Tim Horton’s coffee shop to pick ourselves up a coffee to have while we went to a variety of Yard Sales (one of our passions).

When we arrived at the Tim Horton’s we saw a large number of homeless men and women with their grocery carts filled with their belongings.  We both looked at each other and knew what each other was thinking at that point; we went into the Tim Horton’s and bought them all coffee and donuts.

We just wanted to do something nice for them, but didn’t expect what came next.  This one man who must have been in his mid 50’s, graciously accepted the coffee and donut, but then in his next breath said, “thank you so much for your generosity, I just received this sandwich from another person, may I offer it to you in my appreciation for the coffee and donut?”  I couldn’t believe how the tears just started pouring out of my eyes, in fact just thinking about it now, I’m still tearing up.  This man wanted to do an Act of Kindness for us in giving us his sandwich.

We decided at that time to “have a coffee and a donut” with these gracious people who showed so much appreciation for our kindness.  We sat and enjoyed conversation and listening to their stories; all they wanted was someone to actually take the time to listen to them.  Acts of Kindness just takes you 5 minutes of your time.

The Gift of this story is it doesn’t matter who you are, rich or poor, you can do an Act of Kindness that can stay with someone for the rest of their lives.  Good Vibes Only were shared that day and I will never forget it!

images (1)

